custard cream puffs

Food:
custard cream puffs

Recipe:
adapted from cookpad (in japanese) 

125g water
70g butter
2 tsp canola oil
80g cake flour
3 egg

Process:

pre heat the oven to 392 F

sift the flour and mix the eggs beforehand (not together!)

in a pot heat the water, butter, and oil until boiling

turn off the heat and quickly add the sifted flour
mix well until there is no flour present
i recommend using a spatula

reheat the mixture at low heat for about 20 seconds

then gradually add the mixed eggs to the dough
be careful that the eggs don’t become like scrambled eggs

the dough should become thick enough that if you scoop some up some of it will quickly drop and then the rest will slowly fall

put the dough into a piping bag and pipe the dough in 4 cm circles
slightly wet your fingers to flatten the circles

lightly make 4 lines in the circles with a toothpick
you don’t have to do this but it’s to make the puffs crack in an aesthetically better way… supposedly

Bake for 20 minutes at 395
then 15 minutes at 375 F

Take out of the oven, cool, fill with custard or whatever

Outcome:

I’ve never really made cream puffs before and I was nervous since I heard it can be difficult. But I didn’t really have any problems with make the puff. The bigger difficulty was filling the puff with custard…

I got really irritated that I couldn’t do it well but one of the problems was I didn’t have a good piping tip too.

I think I’m not that big of a fan of custard creams though. Macarons I keep going back for more, but custards I’m fine with just one. I didn’t want to eat anymore but they would go bad so… sigh

I’m lacking in photos since I was tired and pressed for time..

-mayat

Leave a Reply

