domenique ansel bakery

Place:

Domenique Ansel Bakery, New York

Ordered:

pistachio macaron
almond croissant

Review:

I’ve read raving reviews about this place and HAD to try it. I was debating whether or not to get a cake or stick with a pastry but since I was supposed to meet a friend for lunch I went with an almond croissant and pistachio macaron for later.

Since I was disappointed with the balthazaar bakery almond croissant, I had high expectations. Happily my expectations were surpassed! The croissant was flaky and crunchy but maybe a little too buttery. And inside!! it was FILLED with almond paste. so I lied about takahachi bakery, this is the best almond croissant i’ve ever had!

Look at that. I ate the other half the next day and it still tasted good

I ate the pistachio macaron the next day. At first I thought… that’s it? not a lot of filling.. But it tasted much better as I dug in. the inside was moist and even the macaron shell tasted like cream. It wasn’t very pistachio flavor though.. i think? I don’t know still tasted good though!

I really wanted to try the paris breast but it was so much smaller than I thought it would be! All the cakes looked really good though So I hope I get a chance to try one of those before I leave.

The cafe itself is adorable and clean and open. They even have a “garden” in the back that’s like a private patio. Part of it is in an air conditioned space enclosed in a glass area and then there are doors leading to actual outside. The front is open too so you can sit at one of the small tables and do people watching

-mayat

Rating:
food:4.75
service:4
price: $$
overall:4.75

Leave a Reply

